38.6 F
San Benito
June 22, 2024

Panetta announces five San Benito districts to get Title I funds

Congressman Jimmy Panetta announced that five San Benito County school districts would receive Title 1 funds meant to equal the playing field in education.

According to the congressman in a press statement:

Today, Congressman Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.), announced that 30 school districts on the central coast of California have been awarded federal Title I grants totaling $28,935,678.61 for the 2017-2018 school year.

“Title I funds are the backstop to ensure all students receive an equitable education across our Central Coast schools,” said Congressman Panetta. “I am proud to represent a diverse region that values investments in our children to foster their future success.”

Twenty Monterey County schools were awarded Title I funding, including:

  1. Alisal Union Elementary School District: $2,589,612.00
  2. Carmel Unified School District: $233,552.00
  3. Chualar Union Elementary School District: $65,356.00
  4. Gonzales Unified School District: $683,709.00
  5. Greenfield Union Elementary School District 2: $1,345,016.00
  6. King City Joint Union High School District: $842,369.00
  7. King City Union Elementary School District 1: $868,324.00
  8. Mission Union Elementary School District: $14,215.00
  9. Monterey Peninsula Unified School District 1: $2,304,162.00
  10. North Monterey County Unified School District: $997,067.00
  11. Pacific Grove Unified School District: $150,134.00
  12. Salinas City Elementary School District 1: $2,723,211.00
  13. Salinas Union High School District: $4,565,544.00
  14. San Antonio Union Elementary School District: $64,522.00
  15. San Ardo Union Elementary School District: $146,934.00
  16. San Lucas Union Elementary School District: $134,154.00
  17. Santa Rita Union Elementary School District: $517,237.00
  18. Soledad Unified School District: $1,209,462.00
  19. Spreckels Union Elementary School District: $98,416.00
  20. Washington Union Elementary School District: $45,580.00

Five San Benito County schools were awarded Title I funding, including:

  1. Aromas-San Juan Unified School District: $152,391.00
  2. Hollister Elementary School District: $928,521.00
  3. North County Joint Union Elementary School District: $62,223.00
  4. San Benito High School District: $506,219.66
  5. Southside Elementary School District: $16,654.14

Five Santa Cruz County schools were awarded Title I funding, including:

  1. Live Oak Elementary School District: $410,187.60
  2. Pajaro Valley Unified School District: $5,652,591.16
  3. Santa Cruz City Elementary School District: $340,095.02
  4. Santa Cruz City High School District: $1,029,802.91
  5. Soquel Elementary School District: $238,417.12

About Title I

Title I, Part A (Title I) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act provides financial assistance to local educational agencies and schools with high numbers or high percentages of children from low-income families to help ensure that all children meet challenging state academic standards. Federal funds are currently allocated through four statutory formulas that are based primarily on census poverty estimates and the cost of education in each state.

Additional information on these allocations is available from the Office of State Support (OSS), Office of Elementary and Secondary Education, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20202-6100. Specific inquiries may be referred to Patrick Rooney, Deputy Director, OSS, at (202) 260-0826.