61.9 F
San Benito
English English Spanish Spanish
May 31, 2023

Opinion: Unprecedented support for Measure G tax

Commentary by Wayne Norton
An unprecedented coalition of farms, businesses, political groups, and citizens have joined to advocate for passage of Measure G to fix San Benito County roads.
“Our roads rank among the worst in the state, and traffic is getting worse every day. Measure G will implement a detailed community-built roads and transportation safety investment plan to address our most critical transportation needs,” said Bob Tiffany, a Hollister businessman who is on the Measure G campaign committee.
“Measure G gives us an opportunity to become a self-help county, with a reliable source of local funding only for the detailed plan. Nothing can be taken by the general fund or the state. Measure G is ONLY for our local community, ONLY for our transportation needs,” Tiffany said.
Measure G has been officially endorsed by local Republicans and Democrats who agree passage is vital to fixing roads, increasing safety and reducing traffic congestion in San Benito County.
Measure G is endorsed by (*partial listing):
Organizations & Businesses*
Anzar Hills Democratic Club
Associated Students of Gavilan College (ASGC)
Bella Charm
Coke Farms
Dobler & Sons
Filice Farms
Gavilan College Board of Trustees
Grower-Shipper Association
HM Screening Services
Hollister Bike Party
Hollister Firefighters Association IAFF local 3395
Hollister Police Officers Association
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 234 (IBEW)
Kelley Engineering & Surveying
Laborers Local 270
LULAC – League of United Latin American Citizens
Monterey Bay Economic Partnership
REACH San Benito County
RJR Recycling
San Benito County Business Council
San Benito County Chamber of Commerce
Commentary continues below ads
San Benito County Deputy Sheriff’s Association (DSA)
San Benito County Democratic Central Committee
San Benito County Republicans
San Juan Bautista Service Club
San Juan Community and Business Association
San Juan Oaks
Santa Clara/San Benito Building & Construction Trades Council
SEIU 521
Seniors Council of Santa Cruz and San Benito Counties
Stay Alive on Highway 25 Committee
Tiffany Ford
True Leaf Farms
Wallace Group
Measure G Signatories
Bob Tiffany, President, San Benito County Business Council
Valerie J. Egland, Recreation Exercise & Community Health San Benito Parks Foundation (REACH)
Joe Zanger, Community Leader
Pauline Valdivia, Executive Director JDA-Senior Programs
Mike Sanchez, Retired San Benito County Superintendent of Schools
Honorable Retired Elected Officials
Honorable Retired Supervisor Richard Place
Honorable Retired Supervisor Mike Graves
Honorable Retired Supervisor Margie Barrios
Honorable Retired Supervisor Don Marcus
Honorable Retired Supervisor and Mayor Patrica Loe
Honorable Retired Mayor Robert Scattini
Honorable Retired Mayor Pauline Valdevia
Honorable Retired Mayor Leonard Polletti
Honorable Retired Mayor Gordon Machado
Honorable Retired Mayor Cliff Cardoza
Honorable Retired Hollister High School Board Aurello Zuniga
Unanimously approved by Hollister City Council, San Juan Bautista City Council, and San Benito County Supervisors
Community Members & Leaders*
Adam Lopez
Aileene Boffa
Al Castañeda
Andrew McAlister
Ann Breemer
Anna Lozano
Annie Breger
Anthony Gatto
Anthony Manguia
Barbara Rubio
Barbara Scoles
Bertinna Turpin
Beth Breger
Bob Marden
Brett Wuoten
Brian Kimura
Candace Ledesma
Carol Killer
Carol Villar
Casey Powers
Cesar Flores
Chad Houghten
Charles Kayser
Chase Graves
Chelsi Brown
Cherry Edwards
Chris McDougall
Christine Luna
Claude Turpin
Dale Coke
Daniela Juarez
David Bini
David Boulware
David Huboi
Dawn Koistinen
Diana Ortiz
Dolores Burdick
Doris Mudgett
Doug Kuerschner
Ellen Elliott
Everett Clark
Francene Markle
Frank Barragan
Frank Guerra
Frank Ledesma
Gale Mcnabb
George Wielen
Graham Mackie
Greg LaForge
Hamdy Abbass
Henry Machens
Hong Phuong Chau Tran
Jack Markle
Jacquelyn Bourdet
Jan Breemer
Jane Rekedal
Jean Alkire
Jen Boltinghouse
Jeniel Dickson
Jennifer Denton
Jill Martin
Jim & Kathy Dassel
Jodie Marshall
Joe Ortiz
Joe Zanger
John Bessa
John Freeman
John McCormack
John Melton
Judith Hoefling
Judith Ogus
Judith Padilla
Judy Mcnabb
Kara Loupe
Karen Mendonca
Karson Klauer
Katherine Breger
Kathey Graves
Kathleen Boulware
Kathryn Parsons-Tiffany
Kevin Colton
Kevin Stopper
Kevin Stottrup
Kitina Martin
Larry Mudgett
Laura Stampleman
Leo Villar
Leslie Austin
Liliana Cortes
Lindsey Shelton
Lloyd Dickson
Loretta Kayser
Lori Iacopi
Louis Smith
Lourdes Madera
Mark Hirsch
Mark Sargent
Marlee Smith
Matt Kelley
Meg & Robert Groeling
Michaela Graves
Michelle McDougall
Mike Sanchez
Monica Ferreira
Morgan Avila
Myron Sylva
Nancy Stottrup
Nephtali Luna
Nicholas Boffa
Pat Lerman
Patrick Brown
Patrick Lampe
Pauline Valdivia
Phil Fortino
Phyllis Katz
Rachel Reed
Rich Sunseri
Richard Myers
Robert & Theresa Caballero
Robert Gamble
Robert Gibson
Robert Hooks
Robert Rivas
Robert Scoles
Roberta Bessa
Roberto Lopez
Ron Martin
Ron Pascual
Ronald Hoefling
Ruth Myers
Samuel Breger
Scott Fuller
Seth Capron
Sonia Manguia
Stephanie Melton
Stephen Loupe
Stephen Rosati
Stephen Slovacek
Steven Martin
Su Burke
Sylvia Rios Metcalf
Tasha Houghten
Ted Davis
Thomas Hauck
Timothy Powers
Tina Stopper
Valerie Egland
Vernetta McGuire
Vicki Morris
Wayne Norton
Wheeler Edwards
William Marshall
Zachary Tiffany*
(* a partial listing)
Details on Measure G can be found at BetterRoadsforSanBenito.com.
Wayne Norton lives in Aromas. He is a volunteer on the Measure G campaign.