47.5 F
San Benito
English English Spanish Spanish
March 30, 2023

New Hollister council members to take oath Dec. 10

The three new Hollister City Council members are scheduled to take the oath of office Dec. 10.
District 2 Councilman-elect Rolan Resendiz, District 3 Councilwoman-elect Honor Spencer and District 4 Councilman-elect Marty Richman will be sworn in at a Dec. 10 special meeting, City Manager Bill Avera announced at this week’s council meeting. The group’s first full, regular meeting will be Dec. 17.
That means the final council meeting for Mickie Luna, Karson Klauer and Jim Gillio is set for Dec. 3.
City Clerk Christine Black mentioned the city is getting plaques for the outgoing council members.
Resendiz defeated Luna in the race for the westside seat. Spencer beat out two others, Elia Salinas and Raul Escareno, for the seat representing the south-central part of town. Richman beat out Salvador Mora for the seat representing southeast portion of Hollister.
Mayor Ignacio Velazquez retained his seat by beating challengers Gordon Machado and Keith Snow.
As for the two new San Benito County supervisors, Gillio and Peter Hernandez, the new board members generally take the oath in January after a November election.