68.7 F
San Benito
May 30, 2024

Election: Caballero gets most votes in State Senate race

Anna Caballero had a big showing in the primary for the State Senate District 12 seat representing San Benito County.

The Democrat and currently District 30 assemblywoman maintains an impressive lead over contenders, after most results were reported from Tuesdya’s primary, who include Daniel Parra, Rob Poythress and Johnny Tacherra.

In the initial round of results released after 8 p.m. Tuesday, Caballero had 41.2 percent of the vote with just over 25,000 votes.

As of Wednesday morning’s results, Poythress had 26.8 percent and Tacherra had 23,6 percent.

The results are incomplete and unofficial.